• Pre-fALS study

Posted by Amanda on April 14, 2021 at 7:14 am

Wow, you are never going to believe what I received in an email.  As most of you know, I have been volunteering for the pre-fALS study for many years.  (pre familial ALS)  I received and email to attend a webinar to discuss a new clinical trial.  I think they are going to test a treatment to prevent the onset of ALS in people with the SOD1 mutation. I know they already started testing to see if they could stop the progression of ALS in SOD1 mutated pALS. I haven’t seen the results of this part yet.  I think the webinar  is an invitation to learn about and possibly volunteer for the study.  After the 20th I’ll share what I have learned.  I’m both excited and nervous to learn about the next phase of the pre-fALS study.

Bill replied 3 years ago 4 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • Debra Kaufman

April 15, 2021 at 2:19 pm

Keep us in the loop ! It does sound exciting!

• David Crellin

April 15, 2021 at 4:15 pm

Great news! We need a similar therapy for my son who carries the C9orf72 gene mutation I inherited from my mother, and for all the other types of ALS. Fingers crossed, and toes – oh, I forgot, they’re crossed already by default.

• Bill

April 15, 2021 at 5:00 pm

Pretty cool Amanda. That’s going to one tough study! How years would you have to be in trial to know you prevented ALS. Keep us posted. I too was in prefALS but they couldn’t find our family mutation.

• Amanda

April 16, 2021 at 7:56 am