ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS Did You Have to Change Careers, or Even Retire, After Being Diagnosed with ALS

• Did You Have to Change Careers, or Even Retire, After Being Diagnosed with ALS

Posted by Dagmar on May 17, 2022 at 1:00 am

If you were already retired by the time you had your first ALS symptoms, what type of career did you have before being diagnosed with ALS? If you were still at that job today, do you think you could do it with ALS, or have to quit?

Many working-age ALS patients need to continue working and do, but need workplace accommodations or have to change jobs altogether. Have you had to do this? How is it going for you?

Timothy Quick replied 1 year, 10 months ago 7 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Daniel Mitchell

May 17, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Hi Dagmar,

I retired a month after my diagnosis.  I was 60, I turn 62 this year.  I was an IT professional for 40 years and I was losing dexterity in my hands my voice was changing.  My wife and my ALS team all recommended that I retire and I was glad I did.

Daniel

• Timothy Quick

June 9, 2022 at 4:11 pm

I was fortunate to be 70 and 6 months retired from USAID before my diagnosis.  I’m a nutritionist and still doing some part-time consulting, but limited to text as my speech is pretty impaired.  Of course, travel is no longer possible, but virtual meetings keep me engaged.

• Lisa

May 17, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Dagmar,