Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #20954
      Dagmar
      Keymaster

      An upcoming Zoom meeting from EverythingALS caught my attention and I wondered if any of our Forum members have comments about adaptive clothing. This would include everything from shoes to pants, socks to shirts, and more.

      Share with us how you solved your clothing challenges. What brands worked well for you. Or, do you have ongoing problems with clothing due to your ALS that you wished you could find a solution for?

      Here’s the upcoming Zoom presentation (a video recording is usually posted 1-2 weeks after)

      Dress with Success While Living with ALS
      Stylish Dressing Made Easier, with Functional Clothing and Adaptive Techniques!

      Billy Price: Billy’s Footwear
      Izzy Camilleri: IZ Adaptive Clothing
      and Bevin Jett Occupational Therapy and EverythingALS 

      Wednesday, November 17th, 4:00 PM Pacific Standard Time

      •      5:00 PM Mountain Standard Time
      •      6:00 PM Central Standard Time
      •      7:00 PM Eastern Standard Time

      Join the call early!

      The speaker will start promptly at 4:00 PM PST.

      The meeting room will be open at 3:30 PM PST.

      Zoom Meeting:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9696329782  Password: 1117

    • #20968
      Susana Rave
      Participant

      Dagmar, thank you for sharing this information.  I wear the Billy’s shoes and they are comfortable and easy to slip on.  They have zippers on the outside of the shoe which allows the foot to be placed effortlessly inside the shoe bed and once the foot is in you zip the shoes and you’re ready to go.

      They work great with the AFOs!

    • #20971
      Dagmar
      Keymaster

      I found that the shoe brand Hotter Shoes were good with my AFOs. I needed a shoe that was sturdy, flat, and yet had “some” style. Hotter makes shoes in a variety of widths and lengths as well. I bought and use the style “Shake” with my AFOs.

      https://www.hotter.com/us/en

    • #20975
      James Bonner
      Participant

      I have Pembroke socks which are easy to pull on and off and have non skid bottoms

    • #20973
      Nina
      Participant

      I love my sketchers! I’m in a wheelchair so I don’t walk in them but they slip on and off so easily and they don’t look too shabby with pants.

      I’m eager to hear at the adaptive clothing zoom meeting what they suggest for pants to wear in the lift that are removable for going to the bathroom. I’ve only seen one possible solution to this problem and it’s pretty weird! But as we know, modesty goes out the window when you’re ill.

       

       

    • #21020
      Dagmar
      Keymaster

      Here are several helpful blog posts I found that give excellent advice to find adaptive clothing:

      Adaptive Fashion, Tips, Tricks and Hacks

      Where to find AFO-friendly shoes and adaptive clothing

    • #21022
      Vicki
      Participant

      I ended up with shoes from Ortho Feet and love them. The heel has an adjustable strap (great for AFOs) along with an adjustable strap over the instep. Check it out
      Sanibel Heel Strap – Blue
      I find wearing an adaptive nightgown all day is easier for my husband to work with when using the restroom. The adaptive gowns open up in the back like hospital gowns.
      https://www.buckandbuck.com/

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

©2022 KLEO Template a premium and multipurpose theme from Seventh Queen

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

Log in with your credentials

or    

Forgot your details?

Create Account