ALS News Today Forums Forums Using Our Forums About The Moderators

• About The Moderators

Posted by Amanda on February 14, 2022 at 9:59 am

Good morning,

Many of you have been a part of our online community for several years and have gotten to know Dagmar and myself.  I thought I would give you a little background information.  Dagmar and I live in different parts of the country and we communicate often via chat, email and social media.  We both have different experiences with ALS and how it has impacted our lives. We do our best to give you an idea of that in our welcome messages. Sometimes, I think it is obvious that our experiences are vastly different based on our perceptions of posts, comments, movies, articles and even ALS Awareness Month. Dagmar and I have a great mutual respect for one another both professionally and personally.  I think she is amazing and she inspires me all the time!!  I think we make a great team.

I’m a school psychologist by day. I’ve worked in the mental health field for decades in various capacities, but my favorite has been working with and helping disabled youth in schools get the best education and opportunities possible. I have several degrees and certifications; however, I believe life experience and life learning is far more valuable in most cases!!!

My first career was in communications/fundraising for drug abuse prevention and domestic violence prevention. That eventually let me into counseling and to being a psychologist.