ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS Awaiting Diagnosis

• Awaiting Diagnosis

Posted by Vernon Spinas on June 30, 2023 at 12:57 pm

First I would like to thank Amanda and Dagmar for the welcome to the forum.I currently am awaiting a diagnosis to see if I have ALS or not? It started about 9 months ago with a few slurred words. We thought it might have been a stroke but after a an MRI, CT Scan and bloodwork that was ruled out. I am a disabled veteran so the VA ran some bloodwork on me and I saw my team doctor, at this point  it had been about 3 months and my speech had gotten worse, so I was referred to see a local Neruologist in my hometown. I had an evaluation which showed signs of upper neruon symptoms. I had weakness in my left foot/leg along with positive Babinski Sign, which started with a cramp in my left calf that resulted in my foot dropping. They were not quite sure about my speech but said I had mild tongue weakness and Dysarthria, which was confirmed by a Speech Pathologist.  I was scheduled over the next  couple of months a series of 2 MRI’s, a lumbar puncture, lots of bloodwork, an EMG/NCS. They all came back normal except the EMG/NCS. It showed signs of motor neuron loss in three limbs, and weakness, of course the day I go the fasiculations stopped but the Neurologist told us it wasn’t enough to point to ALS yet but it was suspected I had a Motor Neuron Disease. I have finished all my appointments locally and was referred to UAMS in Little Rock, Arkansas at their Neruomusclar/ALS Clinic but that appointment is not until September 11th. My wife didn’t want to wait that long so she reached out to the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota and we are scheduled to go there on July 12th-19th. Which is great news for us because my symptoms have progressed. I can no longer speak, so I use an iPad and my phone to talk for me. I  have now lost the use of my left foot and leg and now I have  severe weakness in my left hand and it wants to curl up and I can hardly use