ALS News Today Forums Forums COVID-19 and ALS “Be the Change You Want to See in this World.”

• “Be the Change You Want to See in this World.”

Posted by Amanda on March 20, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Over the past month we have seen news story after news story revealing how COVID-19 is disrupting our lives and causing panic and chaos in the world. Although we all know how terrible COVID-19 is, isn’t there some good that is coming from this experience?

I’ve had some eye opening experiences this past week! I’ve been off for Spring Break (I work for a school district in Florida) and we have no clue when we can return to work. I’ve lived here for about 5 months and haven’t gotten to know to many people so I’ve been feeling a little disconnected. I live in a small apartment complex with 5 neighbors. Two of my neighbors are elderly and have compromised immune systems. One is very friendly and takes every opportunity she can to talk. The other neighbor although she is very polite, is also very private. She will pass by with a friendly hello and then retreat to her apartment next door.

Every day I check on both of these neighbors. I bring food for one neighbors cats and I bring the mail to the other (private) neighbor.  I often wonder if I am disturbing her since she usually cracks her door, smiles and quietly thanks me. Yesterday I had my two pups out and she saw us. She opened her door and invited Coco (my youngest pup) inside, well sort of invited. She called her over and Coco ran insider her apartment. She smiled at me as she petted Coco and thanked me. She said she was completely taken back that I had been checking on her and it absolutely made her day. We spent a few minutes talking, standing the 6 feet apart of course, and then went about our business.