ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS A message from one of your Moderators

• A message from one of your Moderators

Posted by Amanda on August 24, 2021 at 8:25 am

Good morning ALS News Today Forum Members,

As many of you know I am a school psychologist by day, and moderator by evening :). I started working with BioNews about 2 and half years ago. When Dagmar and I started we were told that we just need to welcome new members, and post a few topics each week and monitor the forum. Simple right? Well, this “job” that is suppose to take 15 – 20 minutes a day, is much much more to me than a job. I think many of us are drawn into fields because of our unique gift sets, experiences and education. I’ve always been in the service field in some manner. I’ve been a addictions counselor, youth counselor, crisis response worker, waitress/bartender (blast) and for the past 18 years I’ve been a school psychologist. This job, is so much more than just a job. It’s a community of people that I have become deeply connected with and care about. Being a moderator has taught me so much more about ALS than I ever thought I would know. It has taught me more about human nature, and myself than any other position I’ve held.

I’ve been volunteering for the pre-fALS study since 2011. Prior to that my family volunteered for two studies at the University of Washington in St. Louis. (yes we are lucky for having such a high rate of ALS they did a study just on my family — please sense the sarcasm 🙂 ) I’ve been reading and researching ALS for decades, but getting to know each of you online has taught me more than I ever imagined.

ALS is a thief, and it robs all pALS and their loved ones. At times, I get frustrated that there isn’t a cure yet; and at other times I recognize all of the advancements that have been made over the past two decades. I believe the the researchers are narrowing in on a cure/treatment for some pALS, but that won’t come soon enough.