ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS Are you a pALS who still works?

• Are you a pALS who still works?

Posted by Dagmar on January 15, 2020 at 4:00 am

For many ALS patients, the progression of their symptoms along with fatigue forces them to leave their employment. For others, who are too young to qualify for disability options having a sustainable income is a serious situation.

Are you still working? Do you commute to work, or work from your home? What are your challenges?

Do you have tips or resources can you share that would help others who are facing this decision?

cateprato replied 4 years ago 6 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • cateprato

January 16, 2020 at 2:14 pm

I still work, and I’m interested in hearing from other pALS on this topic. I commute 150 miles round trip three days a week, work from home two days. I’m a writer/editor, I can walk with a cane, have full use of my right hand, and my speech is pretty clear (diagnosed 8/19 but have had symptoms 2.5 years). I’m lucky! Will be getting voice to text software soon and work is fully supportive. Eventually, I will work full-time from home.

My challenges: knowing how long it is safe to drive (going into the office is good for my mental health); getting easily distracted by my ALS symptoms (including getting tired, weakness of left hand, general worry); determining when I will need to go on disability; what and when to tell co-workers (management and HR know, but peers do not).

Would love to hear experiences of those ‘farther along” than I and happy to answer questions from others.

• richard-fredericks

January 29, 2020 at 3:00 pm