Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Robert Taylor
      Participant

Hi, I am trying to make a decision on whether to do Radicava infusions at home or at an infusion center.  I have medicare, Medicare Supplement Plan and Plan D Prescriptions. It appears that the costs for doing it at home would be much higher for me. But I am concerned about my ability long term to be going to the infusion center 12 times a month. I also wonder if there will be more problems if I do it at home.  I appreciate any insight others using Radicava could give me.

• This topic was modified 10 months, 1 week ago by Robert Taylor. Reason: mis spelling
      Ilana Schatz
      Participant

hi Robert,

I’ve been doing home infusions for over 2 years and it’s been perfect for me, especially during covid.  You need someone else to do it for you.  My partner and I use that time for spiritual reading and non-distracting time together.\

At this point, Medicare does not cover home infusions.  We’ve spoken with ALSA and they’re working on it.  Since it’s open enrollment, you could find a Medicare Advantage plan that does cover it; we have Humana.  There is also a foundation you can apply to for help9 with the drug cost.

Good luck

Cindy
      Participant

Hi Robert. I’ve been going to an infusion center for 3 years for Radicava. When I started in Nov 2017I was still driving and walking. I am now wheelchair bound. I too have an insurance issue. Going out is more taxing now.    But I welcome the outings. The nurses are great. I look at it as a social occasion.  I’m not sure you are aware but There is a 3 rd clinical trial for oral Radicava which is now fully enrolled. We are about 18 months from  hopefully having that option.

Astrid
      Participant

Hi I  wish we had that choice, in the netherlands we only have Riluzol.

Cindy
      Participant

I’m so sorry Astrid. Not sure why every treatment is not available worldwide.

Rhonda
      Participant