Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Amanda
      Keymaster

Good morning,

Did anyone participate in the Toferson clinical trial? If so, what has your experience been like so far? Do you believe it has helped or hindered your condition? Did you continue the treatment after the trial was completed?

Amanda
      Keymaster

Updated:

I was recently diagnosed, this past Friday, and this treatment was discussed because it targets the specific mutation that runs in my family. We’ve lost 15 family members to ALS, the last being this past February. I also have the mutation.

I’ve been volunteering for medical research since 2010; however when the clinical trials started for Toferson, I did not meet the criteria for the trial. I was asking so that I could gain insight and information to help me make decisions about my future health care.

Toferson was supposed to be reviewed by the FDA in January; however, Biogen submitted additional information to the FDA. The company put out a press release saying the the review date has been extended until the end of April.

I will have to apply for extended access in order to be considered for the treatment. I was hoping that some of our members could provide me with information. I have learned since positing that many times when people participate in clinical trials they are legally obligated not to share or discuss information until the drug has gone through the FDA process.

Amanda

• This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Amanda.
        John Ceriotti
        Participant

Amanda