ALS News Today Forums Forums ALS Progress Research Topics Understanding ALS research

• Understanding ALS research

Posted by Amanda on May 9, 2019 at 10:14 pm

I’ve been a school psychologist for nearly 15 years. Prior to that I spend time working in the counseling field. In both careers, I’ve was trained in crisis response/management and mental health. Additionally,  I have been volunteering for ALS medical research since 2009, when my family realized that we had a genetic mutation association with ALS. There was one study completed at the University of Washington in St. Louis on my family. At that point we had lost about 5 family members and had several more diagnosed. Although I have been  involved in several research studies and I have been reading  about ALS research for years, I often times find some of the articles to be overly technical and I don’t always understand the implications or medical writings. I recently came across this website and I thought they did a great job of explaining ALS research and various aspects and types of studies. If you are interested have a look and share your thoughts. https://www.answerals.org/what-research-is-being-done/

Dagmar replied 5 years, 2 months ago 3 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • Jean-Pierre Le Rouzic

May 10, 2019 at 10:49 am

I am sorry for your loss Amanda.

A few observations on this text you linked:

* SOD1 mutations cases are only a few percent of all cases. In fact ALS is very diverse disease, in UK they do not use this word, they use “motor neuron diseases” and I think that it is much more accurate. But most diseases of the Central Nervous System share many features, so it might be that there is no ALS, SMA, Down, FTD, Alzheimer, Parkinson, etc… but proteinopathies. A good step in this direction is for example http://www.alzforum.org