ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS ALS Functional Rating Scale; Are Subjective Scores a Valid Measurement?

• ALS Functional Rating Scale; Are Subjective Scores a Valid Measurement?

Posted by Dagmar on June 5, 2019 at 7:00 am

One ritual all ALS patients share is taking the ALSFRS-R test. The letters stand for “ALS Functional Rating Scale-Revised,” which is a list of 12 questions with multiple choice answers that track the progression of an ALS patient’s symptoms. Originally developed back in 1996 (with one revision in 1999 — thus, the “R”), the ALSFRS-R has been in use worldwide for the past 18 years.

Prior to being diagnosed with ALS, I worked in a hospital environment for nearly 30 years. So, it was an immense shock to me that there was no medical testing or screening (lab, technology, x-ray, MRI, etc.) in use to track my ALS – – only the subjective self-reporting of 12 questions!

Currently, researchers are looking into medical bio-markers for ALS; but meanwhile, the 12-questions remain the gold standard in evaluating ALS progression. I voiced my frustration in this column, I’m Still Functioning.

What are your thoughts about the ALSFRS-R? Do you have confidence in this test as an accurate reflection of your physical abilities and/or ALS progression?

https://alsnewstoday.com/2017/08/29/i-am-still-functioning/

Jean-Pierre Le Rouzic replied 4 years, 9 months ago 6 Members · 18 Replies
  • 18 Replies
  • Ray Chandler

June 7, 2019 at 7:25 pm

I don’t think it is a very good measure but like Riluzole it’s all we have.  My current score is 41 but could easily be 38 or 39 depending on how I answer.

For starters – turning in bed.  At diagnosis I was answering this one with ‘slow and clumsy’.  Turns out it was the bed and not me.  We got a new bed and now the answer is ‘normal function’.  +1 point with no other changes.