• Caregivers Check in

Posted by Amanda on September 30, 2020 at 8:26 pm

Caregivers, how are you and your pALS doing?  It’s been a crazy 6 months between COVID, natural disasters, politics just to mention a few issues we’ve been dealing with.  Being a caregiver is stressful enough without all of these “extras”, so let’s do a check in. How are you?  What have you been doing to take care of yourself? What recommendations can you give to other caregivers and pALS?

Amanda replied 3 years, 2 months ago 9 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • Amanda

October 5, 2020 at 9:29 pm

I was hoping our caregivers would check in and start a dialog.

• Diana Hosner

December 3, 2020 at 9:09 pm

When I first came to this forum I was listening to stories of people who had cared for their pals for years. I read, I studied and cared and cooked for my husband. They couldn’t put in a feeder tube because his oxygen was messed up, they said they could put him under but couldn’t bring him back.  I used ensure for the bases of many smoothies the weight just kept falling off. Eight month since diagnosis I was walking him back to bed and he said, I have a premonition that I’m going to die today. 7 hours later he did.  We did donate the organs they wanted for research. I pray with that there maybe something they can find to help someone else but I just feel lost.  We were married 50 years.  I’m the sickly one he was my caregiver why did things change? I’m sorry I’m rambling. I just hope his loss opens the door to someone else surviving.

• Dagmar

December 5, 2020 at 11:13 am

Diana, I am so sorry you lost your husband to ALS. You certainly gave him care filled with kindness and love. And, we all appreciate and thank him for donating his organs to research – – they will help make a difference.