• Posted by Amanda on May 5, 2021 at 12:13 pm

Hello everyone,

So, I had my pre-fALS visit last week.  The testing was the same, not enjoyable but bearable.  I love the research team at the University of Miami. They have helped with so many advances in the field. I am honored that I can help by volunteering.

After completing the questionnaires and the exam, Dr. Benatar came in to speak with me. To be honest I don’t know if I can recall everything he told me or if my details are spot on because my head was spinning. I was overloaded with information and fear. I’ve been participating in this study for over 10 years. I’ve had over a dozen family members with ALS, and I have the I11T3 mutation on the SOD1 gene which is associated with a slow ALS progression. I’ve always had some symptoms like twitching, muscle cramps, and clumsiness. I honestly can’t remember those not happening.  All of my testing since I started volunteering have had abnormalities consistent with ALS.  The combination of all those things has always had the research team watching me closely.

Over the past 4 years or so, I’ve had severe cramps in my abdomen, both sides and below my rib cage. I’ve never associated this with ALS. I’ve been seeing doctors and doctors and doctors 🙂 They have tried to rule out things like crones, colitis, and Diverticulitis. I have another colonoscopy next week to check for colon cancer and/or inflammation again.  They keep throwing around IBS as a possibility.  I even asked if this could be related to possible ALS and was told no by the gastronalogist…WRONG!  The pain is severe and I often end up balled over screaming.

I’ve also had increasing stiffness in my legs.  At times I struggle to take the first few steps after standing up. Once I’m up and walking it is much better.  Of course, at my age I assume it’s arthritis or something of that sorts from all the physical jobs I’ve had over the years.