ALS News Today Forums Forums Living With ALS End of Life Topics

• End of Life Topics

Posted by Amanda on August 17, 2021 at 8:57 am

Talking about end of life topics such as medical care, hospice, wills etc. are all tough to discuss, but much needed for everyone. People with and without ALS need to be prepared for the end of life. We need give considerations to wills, who will make medical decisions on our behalf and how and where we choose to live our final days.

What have you done to prepare? What do you think needs to be included.

Do you struggle to talk about difficult topics?

Do you have organizations or websites you could suggest to others to help?

Amanda

Mark S replied 2 years, 8 months ago 3 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • Jim Knepp

August 17, 2021 at 5:58 pm

I was an elder lawyer for 37 years before ALS forced me to retire 2 years earlier than I planned, so I had a lot of experience talking to people about end of life decisions – and I have followed my own advice. Please remember that I am no longer a lawyer, having voluntarily surrendered my license in 2016. My first piece of advice – as a layman – would be to talk to an elder lawyer. Don’t go on-line and be your own lawyer and don’t pick an elder lawyer blindly from the telephone book or tv ads. Talk to your family, friends, or someone from your ALS Association to get a recommendation.

Each situation is unique – one size does not fit all.

My Wife and I have a Will, Trust, Appointment of Health Care Representative, a Living Will, and Funeral Directives. I also have a ALS Respiratory Information for EMT’s, a Health Care Directive for an Individual with ALS (including a VSED provision [voluntary stop eating and drinking provision]), and a DNR.

I want to emphasize again – I am no longer a lawyer so I am not saying that you should have these documents. I am simply saying that my Wife and I have these documents because they are what we believe to be appropriate for us.